Label: G7 Welcoming Committee
Genre: Rock
Online: Artist Website


Mico is John Stewart, Patrick May, Todd Harkness, and Troy Fleischhaker. They are a musical act based (reluctantly on some days) in Calgary, Alberta, Canada.

Mico was formed in 1998 by John Stewart and Troy Fleischhaker in Banff, Alberta, Canada following the dissolution of Stewart’s previous band Red Fisher. After various member and instrument changes, the band’s current lineup was finalized in 2003, following the release of their second album Outside the Unbearable Grows, released on G7 Welcoming Committee Records.

While rooted in punk rock- both in their ideals and musical inspiration- the band strays into different musical styles and is known for its combination of politically-inspired lyrics and wall-of-sound guitar rock. Mico are often mistakenly lumped in with the misleading “emo” pack of bands, something the band fiercely objects to.

In addition to Outside the Unbearable Grows, the band has released split 7”s with The Milwaukees and First in Last Out. Their debut album Standing Inside a Shadowwas released in 2001 on Does Everyone Stare? Records. Mico is constantly touring and has shared stages with the likes of The Weakerthans, Propagandhi, The New Pornographers, Samiam, Hot Hot Heat and Moneen.