Essex Green, The


The Essex Green is composed of loyal and proud residents of Brooklyn, New York. The group consists of present and former members of the erstwhile Vermont outfit, Guppyboy, and The Ladybug Transistor. They are also a band that once recorded an entire album under a completely different name – The Sixth Great Lake. It's a veritable musicologist's fantasy.

The Essex Green is a rare breed in today's unilateral homescape. A musical ménage a uno, Sasha Bell, Jeff Baron and Christopher Ziter have conspired to bring forth, with the accompaniment of various gifted friends, their most original composition yet – The Long Goodbye. With the spirit and panache of a National Geographic exploration, The Long Goodbye covers old yet not always familiar territory; at the same time bringing not a common but rather a collective soul to its sound.

The Long Goodbye is the second full-length recording from The Essex Green and the first release on Merge Records. Their first full length, Everything Is Green, was released by the fine folks at Kindercore Records just before the turn of the century (1999). Following that, a five-song music novella entitled The Essex Green was released in 2000 by The Elephant 6 Recording Company.

Over the last few years, The Essex Green has toured across the U.S., performing with such contemporaries as The Ladybug Transistor, Of Montreal, The Beachwood Sparks, The Aislers Set and the Apples In Stereo. They have also made the voyage across the pond for a UK tour with Australia’s The Lucksmiths. Plans are in the works for extensive U.S tours this spring and fall, with a tour of Europe’s finest houses sandwiched in between.