James Figurine
James Figurine
Label: Plug Research
Genre: Electronic
Online: Artist Website


James Figurine is the new project by Jimmy Tamborello (The Postal Service, Dntel, Figurine) and features contributions from John Tejada (Plug Research, Palette Recordings), Erlend Øye (Kings of Convenience), Jenny Lewis (Rilo Kiley, The Postal Service), Sonya Westcott (Arthur and Yu) and Morgan Nagler (Whispertown 2000).

James Figurine explains:

"In November of 2001, my band Figurinne went on a short tour of Germany with Lali Puna. Our label there, Monika, set us up with a driver to get from show to show. She only brought three or four tapes to listen to on the drives, mostly techno. I’d never paid much attention to dance-floor oriented electronic music, but listening to the same tapes over and over again (especially Kompakt’s pop-leaning Total 3 and some 7” vinyl on Parfum) while driving through Germany made a giant impression on me. So this record was supposed to be an extra melodic, minimal techno record with some sparse vocals. Instead, my technopop tendencies got the best of me, the songs slowly filled up, and this is what I ended up with. It’s called Mistake, Mistake, Mistake, Mistake, because that’s what I kept chanting to the beat while I worked on the tracks. John Tejada assisted me along the way, adding sounds to some of the songs, helping write and arrange a few, and then mixing everything in the end. Sonya Westcott sang with me on “5555556666668888883333..” Morgan Nagler contributed some lyrics and vocals to “Pretend It’s A Race And I’m on Your Side.” Erland Øyee sang some words written by designer/animator/poet Geoff McFetridgeon “All The Way To China.” Jenny Lewis (The Postal Service) sang with me on “You Again.” I think that’s all you need to know before you listen to the record, hope you like it!

With Love, James Figurine "